The Criminal Investigations Division (CID) is the primary investigative arm of the Palestine Police Department and is comprised of a CID Sergeant and five detectives, all of whom maintain an investigative caseload.The criminal investigations division's primary mission is the follow-up investigation of criminal acts, including crimes against persons and crimes against property. The criminal investigations division is the primary liaison between the department and the Anderson County District Attorney's Office.

SGT James Heavner

CID Supervisor

Sergeant James Heavner is assigned as a supervisor to the Criminal Investigations Division (CID), where he supervises detectives who have the task of investigating all types of crimes and manages cases under investigation by the Palestine Police Department. He is a graduate of the University of Texas at Tyler where he earned his Bachelor’s degree in Industrial Technology. He joined the Palestine Police Department in 2011 and patrolled the streets of Palestine for three years before becoming detective. Sergeant Heavner promoted to Sergeant and CID supervisor in August of 2019. Sergeant Heavner received specialized training on computer and cellular phone forensics by the Secret Service. In addition, to specializing in white collar crimes and internet crimes, he is also the department’s drone operator.

 

Investigations

The primary functions of the Criminal Investigation Unit are:

  • To review and investigate reports of felony and misdemeanor criminal acts.
  • Identify suspects, both adult and juvenile.
  • Prepare cases for prosecution with the District Attorney's Office.

Investigative work is reactive from reports with the identification, arrest and prosecution of suspects and also proactive through the prevention of criminal acts in their identification of suspects.

What do CID detectives do?

The Criminal Investigations Division handles a broad spectrum of cases:

  • Property crimes, such as theft, burglary, financial crimes, and arson.
  • Personal crimes, such as battery and robbery.
  • Sex crimes, such as rape, child molestation, and voyeurism.
  • Death investigations, including homicide, suicide, and accidental deaths.
  • Drug investigations, including any illegal drugs and emerging drug threats such as Spice.
  • Pharmaceutical diversion crimes, dealing with prescription fraud, doctor-shopping, and related offenses.
  • Juvenile offenses, such as alcohol offenses, truancy, incorrigibility, and curfew violations.
  • Domestic violence crimes, such as battery, confinement, and violation of protection orders.

Property and Evidence

The maintenance, management, and safekeeping of property and evidence taken in by the Palestine Police Department also falls within the Criminal Investigations Division. 

The primary responsibility of a Property Evidence Specialist is to receive all incoming property, properly and securely store it so that it remains readily accessible, lawfully release or destroy it, and maintain documentation of the entire process.

LEARN MORE

CID Contacts

DETECTIVE AREAS OF INVESTIGATION PHONE EMAIL
Sgt James Heavner Cell phone/Computer crimes 903-731-8479 jheavner@palestine-tx.org
Cpl Mike Miller Property Crimes 903-731-8497 mmiller@palestine-tx.org
Cpl Joseph Tinsley Property Crimes/Quality of Life Officer 903-731-8614 jtinsley@palestine-tx.org
Det Justin Carlson Crimes Against Persons 903-731-8462 jcarlson@palestine-tx.org
Det. Cody Dobbs Crimes Against Persons & Narcotics 903-731-8488 cdobbs@palestine-tx.org
Cpl Steffen Wilson Crimes Against Persons & Narcotics 903-731-8457 swilson@palestine-tx.org
Lizz Smith CID Admin Assistant 903-731-8484 esmith@palestine-tx.org
Jennifer Dickey Property Evidence Specialist 903-731-8460 jdickey@palestine-tx.org